11.3 C
Saturday, May 25, 2024

Thorntons mitre 10 celebrations

The Denmark Walpole Football Club Women’s team marked the close of their 2024 season with a vibrant celebration at McLean Oval, hosting their annual club awards ceremony.

The event served as an opportunity to extend gratitude to the sponsors, players, and volunteers who stood by the women’s team throughout the year. Although the team narrowly missed securing a spot in the finals series after a disappointing loss in the final round, the occasion was illuminated by Megan Ross’s remarkable achievement of playing her 50th game. Ross made history as the first female player for the Magpies to reach this milestone, having been a part of every game since the team’s inception in 2020.

Despite the absence of a finals appearance, the Magpies shone brightly at the Great Southern Football League Women’s Awards the week before. Grace Dempster, a standout midfielder who joined the Magpies this season, was honored with the league’s best and fairest medal. Additionally, Lucia Edwards received recognition as the best first-year player, while Sophie Coates and Emma Henderson were lauded for their contributions to the Country Champs.

Grace Dempster continued her winning streak by clinching the club’s fairest and best award, with Sophie Coates securing the runner-up position. Indi Coates was recognized as the rookie of the year, while Karis Aplin, Grace Foulkes Taylor, and Alyce Burton were acknowledged for their significant contributions to the team.

As the women’s season drew to a close with Mt Barker claiming the premiership, the spotlight now shifts to the junior and senior men’s teams, whose season kicked off over the weekend and is set to continue until September.

Summary of Awards:

  • 2024 GSFLW Awards: Grace Dempster (best and fairest), Lucia Edwards (best and fairest first-year player).
  • 2023 GSFLW Rio Tinto Country Championships: Sophie Coates (above and beyond), Emma Henderson (Whittle Douglas best U19 award).
  • 2024 DWFC Women’s Club Awards: Grace Dempster (best and fairest), Sophie Coates (runner-up best and fairest), Indi Coates (rookie of the year), Karis Aplin (spirit of the Magpies award), Grace Foulkes Taylor (coaches’ award), Alyce Burton (sportsmanship award).
Latest news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here